About Us
Happy Kids in a Row.png

The TechSafeSchool project grew out of a concern by parents of children with increased sensitivity to radiofrequency microwave radiation, exacerbated by the increasing proliferation of wireless devices in classrooms.

Technology companies are now pressuring schools to adopt Wi-Fi 6, WiGig, and 5G systems, all of which emit more powerful radiation than the systems they will replace.


At the same time, an increased and urgent concern is being voiced among medical and public health professionals regarding the potential long term health impacts of these exposures. The "hot" nature of a fully wireless classroom and the lack of sufficient testing – or up to date exposure guidelines – are putting our children at risk.


We do not have a product to sell, a program to promote or a new technology to market. Our focus is simply the health, safety and well-being of all students in all schools.  We believe the best environment for learning is a safe environment. 

This program is funded by private foundations and individuals, and designed and managed by Grassroots Environmental Education, an award-winning non-profit organization based in New York. Founder and Executive Director Patti Wood is the recipient of the EPA's National Children's Environmental Health Excellence Award, and the organization has been on the forefront of many environmental issues over more than twenty years. 

You can learn more about Grassroots and its work at www.Grassrootsinfo.org.


We gratefully acknowledge the assistance of Frank Clegg and Canadians for Safe Technology in the development of this project, as well as additional scientific contributions from Environmental Health Trust

Our Team:


Senior Project Director - Doug Wood

Project Manager - Fay Tsamis

West Coast Outreach - Cheryl Matthews

Webmaster - Allison Straub

Social Media - Michelle Barber, Zoe Berg

Science Research - Ellen Weininger

Intern - Nicholas Newman

Technical Advisors:

Mitch Marchand

Shaun Kranish

Ben Levi

Legal Advisors:

Julian Gresser

Andrew Campanelli

Mark Davis

Harry Lehmann

Gregg Lien

John Markham

Mark S. Pollock

James Turner

Scientific Advisors:

Devra Lee Davis, Ph.D.
Paul Heroux, Ph. D.

Toril Jelter, M.D.